17
Apr
13

We shall behold Him, face to face

For 30 years there has been a song which has brought me through the darkest night, given me strength to keep going and reinforced the hope in my heart that Christ is coming back. Written by Dottie Rambo and performed by many artists, the song “We Shall Behold Him” is a classic for those of us who were around when Christian music first got started.

After being beaten down by countless disabling and disheartening experiences, there began to stir within my heart the beginnings of a desire to rise up again for God in 1993. At the time, I had a large collection of cassette recordings by various Christian performers. Slowly, I started weaving songs together into musical story of Jesus Christ for those too stubborn to listen to sermons or those simply needing music to heal and touch their lives.

Soon after I started making those tapes in 1993 I stumbled upon a recording of “We Shall Behold Him” by Sandy Patti that truly moved me to not only tears but open weeping. This song became one of the signature songs on these tapes which I gave away to people who requested them or needed them. Certainly such a thing would be frowned upon today but 20 years ago the whole copy write frenzy was just beginning in Christian music.

One day in early 1994 as I was making a tape of songs relating to the hope, I allowed myself to be caught up in this song as never before. I vividly remember experiencing the whole event in my mind, and in so doing gaining a genuine appreciation and yearning for the return of Christ. It was at that point in my life, nearly 20 years ago, that much of the pain and agony I had gone through in previous years dropped away from me once and forever.

The more the reality of Christ’s imminent return burns in your heart, the less anything this world has done to you or offered you impacts you. When the hope becomes an absolute certainty in your heart, what happens to you (both good and bad) in this life is relegated to a position of being strangely dim and largely unimportant.

Nothing enables us to live and give unabashedly to our Lord more than the hope of His return burning in our hearts. The hope keeps everything in this life in perspective and allows us to move past failure, rise up when knocked down and live the way Jesus told us to live. Without the hope burning in our hearts, we of all people are most to be pitied.

If you have 5 minutes to spare, perhaps you could sit back, close your eyes and let this song reignite the fire of passion for the Lord Jesus Christ by way of the realization that He is returning SOON and that whenever He does, it will be the most incredible event eternity has ever witnessed. Enjoy.

0 Responses to “We shall behold Him, face to face”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

