14
Feb
13

The curse of procrastination

I got a call last night from my sister who said our 90 year old aunt will be passing away within a few days. This is a person who for much of my life I despised because she was just plain mean. But, this is also the person who in the past 10-15 years I became good friends with as she mellowed. I haven’t seen her for three years but I know that I will miss her.

Sitting on my desk is a letter my aunt wrote me a few weeks ago. I kept it on my desk to remind me to write her back. I never got around to it and now it is too late due to her condition. I am reminded again of how many times we intend to do something for someone but rarely do we actually do it. Many times it makes little difference if we do, but sometimes it does.

Back in the day (long before cell phones, e-mails and texting), there were only three ways to communicate with someone; a personal visit, a letter or a very expensive phone call. Due to the high cost of driving and calls, most people corresponded with each other via letters and cards. People used to look forward to going to the mailbox because many times there was personal mail in there. Of course now days the only things in a mail box are junk mail or bills.

The generation which understood the value of a letter is quickly leaving us. With each passing day there are fewer and fewer people who never owned a computer or a cell phone. These “ancients” depended on visits, letters and “land line” calls to stay in touch. One of those people was my mom and now her sister.

My mother-in-law who is staying with us for a season has some pretty severe short term memory issues. She can talk on the phone for an hour and not remember a single thing she talked about. This is very frustrating to her. This is why she loves mail and her eyes light up when I hand her a piece of mail that has come for her. With a letter, what was said will always be there for her to remember.

It is too late for me to write my aunt a letter now for she could not read it or even understood it being read to her. Needless to say, I am deeply disappointed with myself for procrastinating and not getting a short note off to her. Procrastination truly is one of our worst and greatest enemies isn’t it?

Is there someone you should be writing a letter to? Is there someone God has placed on your heart that needs your love, support or wisdom? If so, please learn from my failure and take the time to share your heart with them. You never know if it might be the last time you can

1 Response to “The curse of procrastination”


  1. 1 John
    June 27, 2013 at 10:59 pm

    Very touching! I have been meaning to write a letter to Wayne Dyer for the last 4 years but I have been procrastinating. He is getting up in age and I want him to know how much I appreciate all his books. I have read everyone of them at least once and have many of his CD’s which I listen to all the time. I have listened to his cassete tapes in the 80’s at least 100 times.


Leave a Reply

