01
Feb
13

Worn out by the struggles of this life

I recently heard a song that truly reached into my heart and pulled it closer to God. No, this song was not extolling the virtues of God like you would think. Instead, this song honestly communicated the state of confusion, despair, pain and hopeless millions of Christians have sunk into due to relentless attacks and/or pressure in their lives.

The song “Worn” by 10th Avenue North is one like no other I have ever heard. It is the first song I am aware of that truly portrays how many believers feel, whether for a day, a week or perpetually. I think all of us need to realize there are countless of our brothers and sisters in Christ facing struggles that knock them down, pin them to the mat and seek to knock them out of the game.

My heart has always gone out to those who are struggling like a drowning person in the ocean. Compassion dictates reaching out and giving them a helping hand instead of preaching at them or condemning them for being weak or human. It has always been a source of pain in me to see a fellow Christian being beaten to a pulp by life, and believe me, there are plenty of people out there who are in this state.

Perhaps this is why I have no place for the sanctimonious “holier than thou” or “better than you” attitude manifested by so many within the Body of Christ. It rips my heart to shreds when I see believers harden their hearts and refuse to allow their bowels of compassion to move toward those facing the worst battles of their lives. It just should not be like this.

Haven’t we all been through times when the pressures of life or the demands that arise from a particular situation relentlessly smack us over the head with a log? Haven’t we all been reduced to a state of hanging on for dear life as the enemy continually throws one punch after another at us? Haven’t we all faced the strain that comes with an ongoing physical, financial or emotional crisis?

Many times all someone needs is the assurance that things will work out and there will indeed be an end to the storm battering them. Many times all someone needs is the reassurance they are not alone but there is someone standing with them in prayer who will not judge, condemn or ignore them.

I remember vividly the times in my life when I was hanging on by a thread, crying out for help and no one would respond. I survived only because I believed God would save me or I would be no more. As I listened to this song, it brought tears to my dry eyes because I have been at the place this songs talks about and God has always pulled me out of it somehow. Please take a moment and allow this powerful song to work in your heart as God sees fit.

http://youtu.be/UUEy8nZvpdM

2 Responses to “Worn out by the struggles of this life”


  1. July 18, 2013 at 11:11 pm

    The info is incredibly helpful.

  2. March 18, 2014 at 6:40 pm

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking
    back frequently!


Leave a Reply

