16
Jan
13

The pieces of the puzzle called our life

I am not a nostalgic person and rarely dwell upon the past, but since I am celebrating my 60th birthday, I have allowed myself to think back on major events that have shaped and defined my 60 years on this planet.  Of course there are the life changing events such as the miracle God did for me in New Mexico in 1969 and another miracle I do not speak of that took place in 1987.  But, there have been countless events over the years that have made me who I am.

I believe each event in life is a piece in a giant puzzle that the older we get begins to paint the big picture of what God’s plan for our life really was.  When we are young and there are not that many pieces of the puzzle, we really have no clue what the big picture is or will be.  But, as we grow older and we put all those pieces together, we see what all those events meant and what they all were building toward.

The group Casting Crowns has a song out right now called “You’re Already There” that is very different both musically and message wise.  The essence of the song is that Jesus is already there, waiting at the end of our life to greet us and show us what everything that took place in our lives was all about.  Truly when we see Jesus face to face, He will turn us around and show us the masterpiece that our lives painted to His glory.

Many years ago I allowed the prestige of my ministry position coupled with some devilish teaching to disrupt and destroy my ability to be a public minister.   The result is the conviction in my heart to do nothing that would bring shame to the ministry.  Thus, I have had to struggle for nearly 30 years to find what God wanted of me in this life.  This struggle has been difficult and at times so frustrating I just wanted to crawl in a hole and hide.  But I have stuck with it and understand now what I can do to bless God’s people and glorify God.

In the movie “It’s a Wonderful Life”, George was allowed to see the ugliness of what life would have been without him.  Seeing this, he regained his desire to live and renewed his conviction to be and do his best for others.  Each one of us has touched a multitude of people in our lifetime in ways we will never know until we stand with Jesus at the end of our lives and He shows us what Clarence showed George in the movie.

Although at times it seems I do very little for God and His people, I know that I am doing what God wants me to do and that brings me great peace and joy.  Praying for others, giving to others and loving others is what my life is all about.  Knowing this makes me happy brings contentment to my heart. Thank you for allowing me to share a few of my thoughts on this special day.

0 Responses to “The pieces of the puzzle called our life”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

